When It’s Your Turn

We are vaccinated and boosted. We wear our masks nearly every place we go.

And yet, this week I tested positive for COVID. Because of vulnerabilities of people in our circle, I mask except when outdoors or in the little-used stairwell of our building. We don’t eat indoors at restaurants and we haven’t even had an in-person Christmas celebration due to family members having one or another illness. So in my anecdotal and amateur opinion, it sure seems this latest variant of COVID is highly contagious. And not quite done wreaking havoc with some of us. 

I may have had plans for the week, but it turns out the week had it’s own plans for me.

Thanks to Paxlovid and the miracle of vaccinations, I have stayed out of serious medical jeopardy. The progression of this COVID variant is not a picnic and the Paxlovid side-effects are a bit of a ride. I’m pretty sure I’m experiencing almost all of them. However, it appears that I’m going to manage not being a hospitalization statistic or worse (knocks on wood, throws salt over the shoulder).

My appreciation for those making public health decisions in Massachusetts is deep – the Telehealth consult and resulting prescription for Paxlovid were all provided at no cost. A miracle antiviral at a miraculous price.

If those who study and analyze these things are correct, I expect there won’t be a straight line to recovery over the next week or so. There may be a rebound in my future that will throw things off-kilter.

But, I remain thankful that medical science and access to healthcare have intersected here in my home state and have made it possible to breathe and hope for better times ahead.